Out of stock

Abacus 3. Museum of Finnish Architecture Yearbook

Abacus 3 is a seminal anthology of Finnish architectural thinking. The versatile collection of writings covers 150 years of architectural history spanning from neoclassical theory of the 1810s to modernist ponderings at the turn of the 1960s.

The writers include all the influential architects of the time: Carl Ludwig Engel, Albert Edelfelt, Lars Sonck, Gustaf Strengell, Sigurd Frosterus, Eliel Saarinen, P.E. Blomstedt, Alvar Aalto, Nils Erik Wickberg, Hilding Ekelund, Aulis Blomstedt, Kyösti Ålander, Reima Pietilä, and Keijo Petäjä. The careful selection of the texts, the delicate illustrations, and the erudite introductions to the authors give this title invaluable, timeless value as a reference book.

The articles reflect both fascination with the eternal issues of architecture and with the heated argument of planning policy here and now, concern for both the broad social responsibility of the architect and the state of architecture as an art. Many of the writings from decades back have astounding relevancy still. The literary standard varies, of course. One writer may attack his subject with a razor, another stab at it with a blunt wooden knife. But they do so with equal sincerity. Contrary to all good bibliophilistic principles I feel tempted to urge readers to mark the best bits and to return to them every now and then, just as people used to read their catechism.
— Kirmo Mikkola, Well shapened pens (Introduction) in Abacus 3, p. 11-12.

The item for sale is an ex-library copy in decent condition. The cover is worn, but the pages are attached and clean.


Out of stock

Weight 707 g
Dimensions 21.0 × 21.0 × 1.7 cm

Soft cover


Asko Salokorpi, Maija Kärkkäinen



B&W photographs







Number of pages



Museum of Finnish Architecture

Publishing year